[[Update: SM Departs ‘K-pop Star’!]]

Big news! Well, to fans of ‘K-pop Star’ at least. It’s one of those rare times a rumor in the K-pop industry proves to be true. SM Entertainment has indeed left ‘K-pop Star’ and has been replaced by Antenna Music. It’s representative will be Yoo Hee Yeol, who is the owner of the company. Some people don’t know who he is and I am among them. Apparently he is well know in the Korean music industry, so let’s get some background on him.

You Hee-Yeol.jpg

[Photo Credit: wikipedia.com] Link: http://tinyurl.com/mxhkwxt

Yoo Hee Yeol had started a duo-band called Toy with Yoon Jeong-oh, which was back in 1994 (I was 2!). It did not last long though, since Yoon Jeong-oh apparently went overseas for his studies and Yoo Hee Yeol went to complete his mandatory military service. Toy still exists though, however it is now a one-man band with Yoo Hee Yeol alone. The albums that came after Toy‘s return were successful and he has produced albums for people like Lee Sora and Yoon Jong-shin. It’s okay if you don’t know them, but trust me when I tell you that is impressive. You might also know him from the show ‘Yoo Hee-yeol’s Sketchbook’, which is a live talk and music show. Popular idols, like G-Dragon, SNSD and 2NE1, have been on this show before. I hope that gives some people confidence.

Now there are two problems I have with this issue. The first problem I have is his presentation. According to Allkpop.com, Yoo Hee Yeol said”There’s no cafeteria nor a dance practice room, and it’s a small office located in a basement like place…In comparison to major companies, you can think of our company like a local bakery [rather than a big brand name bakery]…” Now I understand that is meant to come across as “we have a modest, family-like feel to us”, but that is not the kind of statement I expect from someone joining the judging panel of ‘K-pop Star’. I expect strength and confidence in the judge’s statements, but “a small office located in a basement like place”? That might not help candidates come to your company, no matter how respected you are in the industry. Also, the comments about the cafeteria and dance room being non-existent stand out to me too. Either that was mistranslated or he’s more fit for groups like Akdong Musician. We’ll see soon enough. The second problem and perhaps the biggest problem for me is there was no explanation on why SM Entertainment decided to leave the panel. Perhaps SM Entertainment felt they were wasting time on ‘K-pop Star’ and wanted to focus on their merger, new magazine and other efforts. I have yet to find an actual explanation on the issue, but SM Entertainment is not know for it’s clear and precise explanations. Perhaps we will see one soon, but I wouldn’t hold my breath.

 

[Photo Credit: allkpop.com] Link: http://tinyurl.com/lpn5r8b

So, time to share what you think. ^^

[[[New Development]]]

Apparently the PD of ‘K-pop Star 3’ has released a statement as to the reason BoA stepped down as judge and it’s because of her career as a singer/artist, of course. I guess it’s not just SM Entertainment’s statements that are predictable, but statements concerning them as well. I mean, it was fairly obvious they’d say she had her activities to get back to and I thought that’s one reason she would not fight to stay on the panel.  The main problem for me still persists because it does not mention SM Entertainment’s reason for leaving the show altogether. I’m still waiting, but it’s not an explanation I expect to get soon.

Leave a Reply

